Performing Arts

The school is committed to enable all students to develop a range of skills linked to a variety of disciplines within Performing Arts.  Creativity is an integral part of our students learning journey and they are encouraged to develop theoretical learning through creativity and practice as a means to build and develop knowledge and understanding and increase self esteem and confidence.

All students at KS3 have bespoke lessons in Dance, Drama and Music.  There are numerous opportunities for students to share their learning through exhibitions, competitions, showcases, concerts and via social media to celebrate achievements and reach a wider audience.  At KS4, the Year 9  pathway ensures all students have the opportunity to select from a range of creative and Performing Arts to continue building on the skills, techniques, knowledge of practitioners, performance, devising and analytical analysis of set works.

We also offer a range of further qualifications including RSL Music Practitioners performance pathway, NCFE Applied Certificate in Music Technology, A Level Drama and Theatre Studies, A Level Dance, GCSE Music, GCSE Dance, GCSE Drama, Btec Technical Level ½ in Music and Arts Award Bronze and Silver.  LAMDA and Music Grades are also available through our peripatetic programme.

The Performing Arts at Homewood School is well resourced with two drama studios, two dance studios, a fully operational theatre and a large music department which includes a recording studio and mac suite.

We have a large programme of performance opportunities which include:

  • Dance Dash 19th November 2021
  • Annual Dance show week commencing 6th December 2021
  • Drama showcase week commencing 17th January 2022 (Crucible, Acting up, KS4 exam work)
  • Music showcase week commencing 7th February 2022
  • School production Shrek the Musical 9/10/11 March 2022
  • Party in the Park Last day of term
Upcoming Trips and Visits:
  • West End residential June 2022
  • New York 13th February 2023
Staffing

Head of Performing Arts

Yvette Robinson

y.robinson@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Principal Teacher of Dance

Emily Harris

e.harris@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Teacher of Performing Arts

Holly Sargeant

h.sargeant@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Principal Teacher of Drama

Alison Francis

a.francis@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Teacher of Performing Arts

Fiona Kettle

f.kettle@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Assistant Principal Teacher of Music

Susie King

s.king@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Teacher of Music

Samuel Dunstall

s.dunstall@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Sound Technician        

Ashley Smith

a.smith@homewood.kent.sch.uk

Front of house host

Daisy Whittle

d.whittle@homewood.kent.sch.uk